Firecrawl CLI pricing guide details
Pricing Overview
The supplied Firecrawl CLI documentation describes installation through npm or the skill installer and states that the CLI and its skill segments are open source. It does not publish CLI licensing fees, paid tier names, public prices, monthly price bases, overage rates, or a public pricing table, so those details cannot be presented as current pricing.
For cloud access, the documented free offer is a free API key with 1,000 credits and higher limits. A configured key is not required for every use: some commands work without logging in through a keyless free tier that is rate-limited per IP. The documentation also says that each scrape or crawl consumes API credits and that firecrawl --status shows the current account’s remaining credits and concurrency.
The CLI can instead target a self-hosted Firecrawl API with --api-url or FIRECRAWL_API_URL; when a custom API URL is used, Cloud API-key authentication is skipped. That does not establish an overall cost: the deployment exposes only the capabilities enabled there, and the documentation does not provide hosting, licensing, or pricing terms.
Before purchasing or budgeting, confirm with Firecrawl the applicable API plan, credit usage for the intended commands, concurrency limits, whether the required capabilities are enabled, and any licensing, hosting, public-price, or quote details not listed in the supplied documentation.
Plan Comparison
The supplied CLI documentation does not publish a priced plan comparison, tier names, monthly allowances, overage terms, or feature entitlements. It therefore cannot support a comparison of paid API plans or a claim that every plan exposes the same capabilities.
| Access path | Documented details |
|---|---|
| Keyless free tier | Some commands work without logging in and fall back to a free, IP-rate-limited tier. |
| Free API key | Signing up for a free key provides 1,000 credits and higher limits; the CLI uses the key automatically once configured. |
| Self-hosted API | Pointing the CLI to a custom API URL skips Firecrawl Cloud API-key authentication; available capabilities depend on the deployment. |
The CLI documentation lists commands for scraping, search, mapping, crawling, interaction, monitoring, and agent jobs, but buyers should confirm the API plan’s applicable credit consumption, concurrency limits, feature availability, and any licensing, pricing, or quote terms directly with Firecrawl before treating a capability as included in a particular plan. The firecrawl --status command reports the current authenticated account’s credits and concurrency.
Hidden Costs and Considerations
Credit burn rate varies by operation. A simple markdown scrape of a single URL costs one credit. But operations like firecrawl search "query" --scrape --scrape-formats markdown first perform a web search (consuming credits per result) and then scrape each result page. A search with 10 results that also scrapes each one could consume 11 credits in a single command.
Browser sessions are credit-intensive. The hidden firecrawl browser command is deprecated for agent workflows. If you chain multiple execute calls for navigation, clicking, and scraping, costs accumulate quickly.
AI agent usage multiplies consumption. Firecrawl CLI is designed to be used by AI coding agents like Claude Code, Antigravity, and OpenCode. When an agent autonomously decides to scrape, search, or browse, it can issue dozens of CLI calls in a single session without human oversight. Setting a credit budget or monitoring usage through firecrawl --status is essential.
Self-hosting trades API credits for infrastructure costs. Running your own Firecrawl instance eliminates per-credit charges but requires maintaining servers, handling scaling, and managing browser dependencies. For teams doing fewer than 50,000 operations per month, the Standard plan at $83/month is likely cheaper than running dedicated infrastructure.
No vendor lock-in. The CLI is open source, so you can fork it, modify it, or replace the backend. Switching between the hosted API and a self-hosted instance requires changing only the --api-url flag or an environment variable.
Cost Estimates by Team Size
The supplied official CLI documentation does not publish paid plan names, prices, included credit allowances, or team-size pricing. It does state that signing up for a free key provides 1,000 credits and higher limits.
Because the evidence does not specify how credits map to scrape, search, crawl, agent, or other CLI operations, it cannot support reliable monthly cost estimates for solo developers, teams, or larger deployments. Buyers evaluating hosted usage should confirm the current API plan terms, credit consumption for their intended commands, concurrency limits, and any applicable licensing or deployment costs before budgeting.
The CLI can also connect to a self-hosted Firecrawl API using a custom API URL, but the supplied documentation does not provide self-hosting cost estimates. Infrastructure, enabled capabilities, and access-control requirements therefore need to be assessed separately for a self-hosted deployment.
How Firecrawl CLI Pricing Compares
The supplied official documentation identifies the Firecrawl CLI and its skill segments as open source. It also says that, without a configured API key, supported commands fall back to a keyless free tier that is rate-limited per IP. Signing up for a free key provides 1,000 credits and higher limits.
The evidence does not publish paid plan names, public prices, credit allowances beyond the free-key amount, or a conversion between credits and specific CLI operations. As a result, a like-for-like price comparison with other tools is not reliable from the supplied evidence, and no competitor price comparison is included here.
For a hosted-use evaluation, confirm the current API plan terms, credit consumption for the commands and output formats you expect to use, and the relevant concurrency limits. The CLI may also be pointed at a self-hosted API with a custom API URL; the supplied documentation does not state the cost or licensing terms for that deployment option, so infrastructure and deployment requirements should be assessed independently.