KNIME pricing guide details
Pricing Overview
KNIME sits in a small group of data tools that are genuinely open source at the core and commercial at the edges. The KNIME Analytics Platform — the desktop workflow builder where nodes are wired together for ETL, data prep, and machine learning — is free and open source for personal use. Nothing about that tier is time-limited or feature-gated behind a trial clock. The commercial revenue comes from what you bolt onto it: collaboration, governance, scheduling, and scale.
The vendor states this arrangement directly on its pricing page: "Use the free and open source KNIME Analytics Platform for personal use, or collaborate, govern & scale by using it in conjunction with one of our paid offerings."
Three monthly figures are published — $19/mo, $49/mo, and $99/mo — alongside a per-unit rate of $0.02. The pricing data we hold does not specify what unit that $0.02 bills against, and we will not guess; treat it as a consumption component you must clarify with KNIME directly before budgeting. Larger deployments fall under contact-sales, so the published ladder covers the entry and mid-range offerings only, with enterprise-scale arrangements negotiated per deployment.
What makes this notable for evaluators: the expensive part of most analytics platforms — the modelling and transformation engine — is the part KNIME gives away. That inverts the usual cost curve. You can prototype a full pipeline, validate that the tool actually handles your data shapes, and prove value to stakeholders before a single dollar moves. Compared with the enterprise BI vendors, where the first honest conversation about fit happens after a sales cycle, that is a material de-risking of the evaluation itself.
The corollary is that the free tier is scoped to personal use. The moment a workflow needs to be shared, scheduled, audited, or run by someone other than its author, you are in paid territory. Plan your budget around the collaboration boundary, not the capability boundary.
Plan Comparison
| Offering | Published Price | What the source data tells us |
|---|---|---|
| KNIME Analytics Platform | Free (open source) | Free for personal use |
| Paid offering | $19 / mo | Published monthly price |
| Paid offering | $49 / mo | Published monthly price |
| Paid offering | $99 / mo | Published monthly price |
| Consumption component | $0.02 | Per-unit rate published on the pricing page; the billing unit is not stated in our data |
| Larger deployments | Contact sales | Negotiated per deployment |
We have deliberately left the feature columns out. KNIME publishes these price points, but our data does not record which capabilities sit behind each one, and inventing a feature matrix would be worse than useless to someone building a business case. Pull the current tier breakdown from knime.com before you commit.
For the same reason we have not produced a cost-by-team-size table. The $19, $49, and $99 figures are monthly, but our data does not establish whether they are charged per user, per workspace, or per deployment — and without a known unit there is no arithmetic a reader could check. Confirm the billing unit with KNIME and the sizing math becomes trivial.
Hidden Costs and Considerations
In our experience, the line-item price is rarely what determines total cost of ownership for an open-core workflow platform. Watch these categories:
Compute is usually yours to pay for. Open source desktop software runs on hardware you already own, which feels free. Server-side execution does not. If workflows move from an analyst's laptop to a shared execution environment, you are paying for that environment — whether via the vendor's consumption metering or via your own cloud bill. A workflow that takes four minutes on a laptop and runs once a day is cheap. The same workflow parallelised across a hundred partitions and triggered hourly is a different financial object entirely.
The consumption line is the one to model. Where a vendor publishes a small per-unit rate — $0.02 in KNIME's case — that number looks harmless in isolation and scales aggressively under automation. Before signing, establish precisely what the unit is, what a representative production workflow consumes per run, and what your expected run frequency is. Small per-unit rates combined with scheduled execution are the most common source of budget surprises in this category.
Data movement and egress. KNIME does not charge you for reading from S3 or writing to Snowflake, but your cloud provider and your warehouse will. Pipelines that repeatedly pull large extracts across cloud boundaries generate costs that appear on someone else's invoice and rarely make it into the tool's TCO model.
Seats creep at the collaboration boundary. Free-for-personal-use models concentrate cost at the point where a workflow becomes shared infrastructure. Count not just the people building workflows, but everyone who needs to run, schedule, review, or audit them — governance requirements in particular tend to expand the seat count well beyond the original builder group.
Skills and maintenance. Low-code workflow tools lower the barrier to a first pipeline and do not eliminate the cost of maintaining a hundred of them. Budget for the engineering time to establish naming conventions, version control practice, testing, and a deprecation process. This is frequently the largest real cost and never appears on a pricing page.
Storage and retention. Workflow artefacts, execution logs, and cached intermediate results accumulate. Ask what is retained, for how long, and whether retention affects your bill.
How KNIME Pricing Compares
| Tool | Pricing Model | Starting Price | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| KNIME | Open source (open-core with paid tiers) | Free for personal use; paid offerings at $19/mo, $49/mo, $99/mo | Teams that want to prove value before spending, and analysts who prefer visual workflow building to code |
| Domo | Usage-based (hybrid per-user licence plus consumption credits) | $30,000/year ($2,500/month) minimum viable deployment | Organisations wanting an integrated BI and app platform, with budget authority already established |
| Looker (Google Cloud core) | Enterprise | Not published — no platform or per-user price; three platform editions, with Standard aimed at organisations under 50 users | Enterprises standardising governed metrics on Google Cloud |
The contrast is stark at the entry point. Domo's published floor of $30,000/year ($2,500/month) is the minimum viable deployment — that is the cost of finding out whether it fits. Looker publishes no platform or per-user figure at all, so evaluation requires a sales conversation before you know the number. KNIME's free open source tier means the cost of a serious technical evaluation is your own time.
That asymmetry should not be read as KNIME being cheaper at scale — it is a different shape of cost, not automatically a smaller one. A production KNIME deployment with many collaborators, scheduled execution, and consumption-metered compute can reach meaningful annual spend. The honest comparison is: KNIME lets you defer the spending decision until you have evidence; Domo and Looker require the decision first. For teams with genuine uncertainty about fit, that sequencing is worth real money.